The Town Clerk and Tax Collector is Katherine (Kitty) Cornwell. (Term expires March 2019)
The Deputy Town Clerk/Tax Collector is Lisa Amarosa.
The Assistant Clerk/Tax Collector LeeAnn Simpson.
The office is open:
Monday, Wednesday, and Thursdays from 8am to 1pm, and
on Monday evenings from 5 to 7pm
Changes to the regular hours are posted at the town hall kiosk, the homepage, and the Town Calendar.
The Town Clerk's Office follows the Oyster River School District's closing policy for weather related events.
Effective January 1, 2005 all individuals requesting a certified copy of a record (pursuant to RSA 5-C:102,VI) must
present positive identification, including, but not limited to, a driver's license, passport or other government issued picture
identification. New Hampshire vital records are considered to be private and New Hampshire Statute restricts access to
them to only those individuals who can demonstrate a "direct and tangible interest" in the record. Certain older records
are exempt from these access restrictions. The cost of a search for a vital record is $15.00. If DVRA staff find a record
after the search, a certified copy will be issued free of charge. Additional certified copies of the same record are
available at a cost of $10.00 each.
City or Town Clerk regardless of their place of residence. This includes out-of-state residents. Both parties should appear
with valid photo identification and any supporting documentation (divorce decrees, death certificates, age waivers, etc). The
process takes approximately 30 minutes. The fee is $50.00 and the license is valid in any city or town in NH for 90 days.”
Madbury Transfer Station permits may be obtained from the Town Clerk. The fee is $1. Click for Transfer Station
Dog licenses may be obtained from the Town Clerk. State law requires dogs to have a rabies vaccination at 3 months of
age and to be licensed by 4 months of age. A current rabies certificate is required to license your dog. Male and female
dogs cost $9.00 and altered animals are $6.50 for the year. Owners over 65 years of age can register one dog for
$2.00. Licenses expire on April 30 each year.
When do I license my dog?
License a new adult dog immediately. License a puppy before it is 4 months old. The license period runs May 1st
through April 30th of each year. License renewals are accepted after January 1st of each year.
What do I need to license my dog?
State law requires that before a license is issued, the owner or keeper of a dog must furnish proof to the Clerk that the
dog has been vaccinated against rabies. In addition, the annual license fee is less for a dog that has been spayed or
neutered. Evidence of the procedure needs to be supplied to the Clerk. Feel free to contact your local City or Town
Clerk if you wish to determine whether or not this information is already on file for your pet.
What happens if I do not license my dog?
Failure to license a dog is a violation of state law and city/town ordinances. In addition to the annual license fee you will
be charged a late fee of $1.00 per month for each month (or part of a month) after June 1. In addition, you are subject
to a civil forfeiture fee of $25.00 due within 15 days after receiving notice of forfeiture. If the forfeiture is not paid, the
case will be disposed of in District Court. Additional penalties may apply under local ordinances.
The Tax Collector collects real estate taxes twice a year. Due dates are generally July 1 and December 1. The first bill is
an estimate and is one half of the previous year’s total. The second bill is determined after the tax rate is set by the NH
Department of Revenue. The Tax Collector accepts cash, certified bank checks, cashier’s checks, personal checks, and
money orders. Currently there is no payment by debit or credit card.